On Twitter & Temptation

Before you get too far into this post, this is not a bash on twitter.  I joined twitter a few months ago, but don’t really use it that much.  I don’t follow very many folks and don’t have too many followers.  As you can tell, I don’t “tweet” much at all.

Yesterday, however, I received an email from twitter that said someone new was following me.  I didn’t recognize the name so I clicked on the profile.  On the profile was a link to a web page.  At that moment, I should have known this was a danger zone.  How many times have people used e-mail, myspace pages and pop-ups to take you to places you shouldn’t go?  Ignoring my “tingling spidey sense,” I clicked on the link.  It took me to a web page where you could connect with other adults and had links to pages that were full of adult content.  I got out of that page, blocked the follower and deleted the email, but it made me realize (again) how often temptation is knocking on our door.  That link was the invitation to enter a world full of images that we need to contintually avoid.

Then I read James 1:13-15:

When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed.  Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

That experience, a simple email from twitter, reminds us that we need to always be aware of the enemy’s plans.  I love what the internet offers through services like twitter, facebook and even blogs (hmmmmm…..), but we need to be mindful of how the enemy can use what appears to be innocent and stives to open the door to sin and eventually to death.

Leave a Reply

