Remembering Grandpa

Grandpa died December 11, 2002 (hard to believe it has been that long). One thing that I always think about when Grandpa comes to mind is basketball. He was a coach, loved to watch ball (especially I.U. – must be genetic) and I remember shooting around with him when I was a kid.

My daughter is really into basketball. It is her passion; the thing she loves to do. The bonus is that she is pretty good. This year I have been trying to keep track of stats and newspaper clippings of her games.

Last week her team beat their big rival for the second time this season. There was a nice write up in the paper this week about it and she was mentioned twice. I sent it to my Mom and Dad since they live out of state. They both sent the same response: Great-Grandpa would have been proud!

It was one of those bittersweet moments where you are both happy and sad. I knew Grandpa would have been proud and that made me smile. But, Grandpa never got to see her play and that is the sad part.

All in all it makes me so thankful for my family, for their influence in my life and most of all the reminder that this life isn’t all there is. God has much more waiting for us.

2 thoughts on “Remembering Grandpa

Leave a Reply

