Miles Wide & Inches Deep

It’s been a while since I have taken the time to write here.  I almost put that it’s been a while since I have had the time to write, but I recognize that I make the determination on how I spend my time.  It was another reminder to me of  how easily we get derailed, distracted or even disinterested.

As I was thinking of how this is true at times in my life, I thought of the words to the hymn that say, “prone to wander, Lord, I feel it; prone to leave the God I love.” While I don’t actually leave God – as in totally turn my back on Him and reject all belief in Him – I do at times wander.  I don’t engage with Him as often as I should.  I don’t invite Him into the details on my life and take on that false assumption that I can handle it on my own.

Do you ever feel miles wide, yet just inches deep?  I don’t remember when I first heard that description of Christianity, but it rings true at times.  We say the right things, give the right appearances, participate in the right activities, but the depth is lacking.  Recognizing that my heart is prone to wander, I need to bring it back to God so that I can grow deep and not just wide.

Leave a Reply

