Well Wishes and Five Bucks

Today was my birthday and my Facebook is full of birthday wishes and greetings.  I use Facebook mobile so every time something is posted to my wall or a message is sent, it comes as a text message to my phone.  Suffice it to say that my phone was buzzing pretty much all day.

While I realize that the birthdays of your friends on Facebook are listed on the right column of your news feed, it was still nice to have people take at least a few seconds to say “Happy Birthday.”  I received messages from high school friends, family members, youth group students and former youth group members.  Kind of a fun addition to the day.  So, if you were one who sent a birthday message…thanks!

Another cool thing happened today that had nothing to do with my birthday.  I went across the street to pick up some sandwiches and I saw a gentleman from our church.  He came up, said hello, introduced himself (just to make sure I knew who he was) and then he shared some encouraging words.  He mentioned a couple of things in my ministry that he appreciated and encouraged me to continue doing what I do.  Then he said I had a $5 credit at the cash register.  Before he came and spoke to me, he gave the cashier five bucks to apply to my order.  I was caught off guard and moved by what he did.  It would have been enough for him to say the encouraging words that he did; the five bucks was an added bonus.

It was a great reminder to me how the little things we do for others can be encouraging.  Facebook comments.  Small gifts.  Written notes or spoken words.  All those can go a long way in making someone’s day.

Leave a Reply

