Graduation

It has arrived.  My son is now officially done with high school.  Well…it really won’t be official for another week.  The graduation ceremony is Sunday, but he has to take a final on Wednesday (due to some snow days) and won’t get his actual diploma until that Thursday.  But, for all intents and purposes, he is done.  No more high school.

While I don’t really remember clearly my last few days of high school, I do remember my graduation and the feeling of being done.  Some were sad that it was over; some had mixed feelings; I was glad to be done.  I enjoyed high school, but was not teary eyed to see it end.

With that in mind, it is kind of hard to believe he will graduate on Sunday.  Family will come and we will have an open house – I am looking forward to that.  The more I think about it, I realize that graduation is not really as much a completion as it is a transition.

Even before graduation arrives, we are working on papers and applications for college.  Forms are due, different copies of this and that need to be turned in to make things official and to insure he is ready for the fall.  So, yes, he is done, but as the Carpenters’ lyrics sing out – “we’ve only just begun….” (yeah….I know….kind of cheesy…..)

So, am I excited about graduation?  Yes.  It will be a good weekend.  But I think I am looking forward to what the next few months bring as this transition takes place.

To any grads or parents of grads who may read this — Congratulations!  It is an exciting time.

Leave a Reply

