I Am Third

We’ve adopted a theme for this school year in our Student Ministry.  As a theme it is not original with us, but our leadership thinks it is a good fit for the direction we want to go.  The premise is pretty simple:  God is ONE, Others are SECOND, I am THIRD.  This year we will be discussing what all that means and how we can strive to make it real in our lives.

As I was driving in this morning, I heard the new Chris Tomlin song, “I Will Follow.”  I had listened to the song before (even got the chords for it), but was struck this morning by the message of the song, especially the following portion:

Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow you
Who you love, I’ll love
How you serve I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow you
I will follow you

That explains pretty well what it is to live like I am third.  I will move where God wants me to move, to love the people who God loves, to serve how He serves and to give mylife to Him.

The challenge is actually doing it.  We need to live each day like we really are third.

One thought on “I Am Third

Leave a Reply

