Like the Moon

Sometimes the simplest reminders are the most powerful…

Last weekend was spent at a retreat with our junior high students.  The theme was centered on the book of Acts and looking at what the church is supposed to be.  Kind of ironic that we have been focusing on the same thing as a church.

We were reminded of what the church is supposed to look like and admitted that sometimes the church has strayed away from that model.  We saw that when we focus on ourselves and our own abilities, we run into problems.

Sometimes the simplest reminders are the most powerful…

As the church – God’s people – we are to reflect Him in what we do, like the moon.  The moon produces no light of its own; it simply reflects the sun.  The illustration is pretty straightforward and nothing brand new.  Then our speaker said something like this:

The moon is just a ball of dust, but it lights up the night as it reflects the light of the sun.  We, too, are just a ball of dust, but with the breath of God in us and His light on us, we can reflect His glory.

What a powerful way to describe who we are to be as a church.

Sometimes the simplest reminders are the most powerful…

One thought on “Like the Moon

  1. I know it’s been almost 2 years since you posted this, but I just now came across it. I wanted to say that, that is why I love the song “You are the Sun” by Sara Groves. In that song is the lyric: “I am the moon with no light of my own, still You have made me to shine, and as I glow on this cold dark night, I know I can’t be a light until I turn my face to You.” God bless!

Leave a Reply

