A Worship Leader’s Perspective

For the last couple of years, I have had the opportunity to lead worship at our Sunday morning services.  Being on the stage almost every Sunday gives a unique perspective that most church attenders don’t have.  I see when people are moved by what’s happening in the service, when people appear bored and even when people are texting or talking during the service.

This past Sunday as we were moving toward our time of communion, we used the song Jesus Messiah.  While our church family isn’t overly expressive in our worship (compared to other places I’ve been), I saw many of our people respond in a worshipful way during the song.  Some simply raised their hands.  Others stood.  Some did both.  Some smiled as they sang.  Others closed their eyes.

As I looked around our auditorium, I was struck by the fact that God loves and uses all different types of people. I know gathered that morning were sinful, broken, wounded people who were expressing their thanks that Jesus is our ransom, our redeemer, our rescue.  It wasn’t because the praise team was so good.  It was the power of the truth of that song.  It reminded me that God loves me in all my shortcomings and allows me and others into His presence.

One thought on “A Worship Leader’s Perspective

Leave a Reply

