Summer Vacation Reading

While on vacation, I got a chance to catch up on reading some books that have been sitting on the shelf for a while.  Some people like to be on the go when on vacation, visiting different places and seeing the sites.  My wife and I enjoyed sitting on the beach, reading and then, occasionally, changing scenery by moving to the pool.

The first book I read was The Hobbit by Tolkien.  I have to admit I’ve only read the first two books of the Lord of the Rings trilogy (but I’ve seen all the movies!).  I knew a movie based on The Hobbit was coming out soon so that gave some motivation to get it read.  I enjoyed it, but was a little taken back by how much trouble one hobbit could get in.

I’m still amazed at Tolkien’s writing and the creativity he employed to create such a story line with so many different characters.
 


The next two books were from John Grisham’s Theodore Boone series.  I had read the first one several months ago, but hadn’t opened the two books that followed.  While they are geared more for teen readers, they fit very well into Grisham’s style of writing.  They were an easy read and were both great stories.  Kind of reminded me of the Encyclopedia Brown books from back in the day.  I am a big Grisham fan so pretty much read about anything he produces.  The second book is Theodore Boone: The Abduction and the third book in the series (so far) is Theodore Boone:  The Accused.  The third book picks up the storyline from the first book, but then kind of goes in a different direction from what you initially think.



The final book I started, but didn’t get finished on the beach, was Michael Connelly’s The Brass Verdict.  He writes in a style similar to Grisham. I’ve only read two previous Connelly books, but enjoyed them.  This one followed up the book that was made into a movie, The Lincoln Lawyer.  I was able to finish up the book once I got home and now want to continue in the series.  I like his writing.

Leave a Reply

