Red Letter Revolution

red letter revolutionRed Letter Revolution is probably one of the most interesting books that I have read this year. It was both interesting and challenging as the two authors approached life with the question, “What if Jesus really meant what He said?” They didn’t shy away from any topics, but dealt with the issues of women in the church, racism, being pro-life, politics and many more. Even though I was reading a book, I felt more like I was sitting in on a discussion the two authors were having as they wrestled with each subject.

Tony Campolo is a name I’ve been familiar with for many years as I’ve been exposed to several of his books and have heard him speak both live and on video. Shane Claiborne is less familiar to me, but reading the authors’ conversations was engaging and challenging. On many of the issues I appreciated their insights and how they had dealt with the topic thoughtfully and thoroughly. It appeared they had spent time working through the issue in light of what Jesus would have to say about it. I doubt any reader would agree 100% with everything they said, but I didn’t get the impression they were making statements in an effort to be divisive or even judgmental. I came away with the impression that they were taking seriously the challenge to live life based on what Jesus said.

A main takeaway from this book would be for the reader to think through his or her convictions on these (and other) issues and compare them to the words of Jesus. If Jesus is the One I am following, am I allowing His words to direct how I respond to these various issues? Red Letter Revolution is a thought-provoking book and would be a good read both for an individual follower of Jesus and a group to discuss together.

Here is a brief video of the authors explaining the background to the book. I thought it might provide additional insight to what they wrote.

(the publisher provided a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze®)

One thought on “Red Letter Revolution

Leave a Reply

