Sunday’s Sermon

I have a unique opportunity this Sunday.  Not only am I preaching, my son will be helping with the message.  It is a new experience for both of us.  I have spoken many times, but have never prepared a message with someone else.  He has never helped bring the Sunday message, so we are going to see how it goes.  I am excited about it  and hopefully can help him understand some of what goes into message preparation.  I know I learned a lot from my professors at school and other speakers I have heard.  Hopefully this will be a good start for him to  learn how to communicate well.

Thinking about our message reminded me of my first solo sermon.  I was in high school (junior year maybe?).  I had the chance to preach on a Sunday night.  I don’t remember what I spoke on; I just remember my 15-20 minute sermon being done in about 7 minutes.  I was flying!  My youth minister told me if I was speaking too fast, he would give me a signal that would let me know to slow down.  He gave me the signal…I didn’t slow down…just kept on moving.  The people at my church were kind afterwards.

One of the cool things about this message will be letting him insert some of his own stories and insights.  He already added two, so I am looking forward to the finished product.  We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

